, Festivals Editor

AFI Fest 2011 wraps up tonight with the closing gala premiere of The Adventures of Tintin. Awards were handed out this morning to a crowded Roosevelt Ballroom which attendees were informed hosted the very first Academy Awards ceremony. There was only a bit less fanfare (and no Muppets) for this morning's ceremony where the following films were recognized:

Young Americans section - Audience Award
WUSS - Director: Clay Liford

Breakthrough section - Audience Award
WITH EVERY HEARTBEAT - Director: Alexandra-Therese Keining

World Cinema section - Audience Award
KINYARWANDA - Director: Alrick Brown
JIRO DREAMS OF SUSHI - Director: David Gelb

New Auteurs section - Audience Award
BULLHEAD - Director: Michael Roskam

New Auteurs section - Critics Special Acting Prize
Matthias Schoenaerts - Bullhead

New Auteurs section - Critics Special Jury Prize
ATTENBERG - Director: Athina Rachel Tsangari

New Auteurs section - Critics Grand Prize
THE LONLIEST PLANET - Director: Julia Loktev

Shorts - Live Action Grand Jury Prize
FROZEN STORIES - Director: Grzegorz Jaroszuk

Shorts - Live Action Honorable Mention
BABYLAND - Director: Marc Fratello

Shorts - Animated Grand Jury Prize
THE EAGLEMAN STAG - Director: Michael Please

Shorts - Animated Honorable Mention
THE VOYAGERS - Director: Penny Lane

For those attending the festival, the following screenings have been added today at The Egyptian in Hollywood:
1pm - Attenberg
4pm - Kinyarwanda
7pm - With Every Heartbeat
10pm - Bullhead
The Lonliest Planet was already scheduled to play tonight at 9:30pm at the Chinese theater.

Around the Internet:
blog comments powered by Disqus